Basic Tempo Run Question (Read 1218 times)

Confused I'm pretty new to running, and right now I'm training for a 1/2 marathon. On Thursday I have a tempo run on my training plan that says I have to do 1 mile warm up, 4 miles at an 8:30 pace (I know, I'm slow), and a 1 mile cool down. I find that I do better just running my fast pace right out of the gate rather than running a warm up pace and then speeding up to my fast pace. Is that okay for a tempo training run? Will it hurt my training at all to do 4 miles right off the bat at 8:30, and then do a 2 mile cool down (at probably a 9:45)? That is what I would prefer to do. Any help would be great! Thanks, Michael
    jeffdonahue

I would probably do the warm-up. One other thing this will help you to get used to is negative splitting - running for a while and then picking up the pace later in the race.

You probably could get away with it, but I still recommend the warm up. Aside from getting used to picking up the pace mid-run, it will also leave you less vulnerable to injuring yourself. If that 8:30 pace is easy for you, then maybe you should use that as your warm up and then run a faster pace.

Run to Win
        25 Marathons, 17 Ultras, 16 States (Full List)

The warmup is important and something that all good runners do. I agree with Run to Win on tbis one: "If that 8:30 pace is easy for you, then maybe you should use that as your warm up and then run a faster pace." I think it's an illusion that you run better with no warmup--I'm nearly certain that it is.
          Age 60 plus best times: 5k 19:00, 10k 38:35, 10m 1:05:30, HM 1:24:09, 30k 2:04:33
            You should always warm up. Tempo runs are speed work and speed work is hard on the body. A pulled quad or hamstring will put an end to your half marathon dreams (ask me how I know). Tom

Prince of Fatness