Garmin / MB differences (Read 836 times)

zer0vector

Has anyone else noticed a big difference between the distance measured on a Garmin Forerunner and the distance measured after you upload the file to MotionBased? On runs the difference hasn't been too much, maybe 0.1 of a mile, but I just went on an 8 mile hike and the difference was much more pronounced . At the end of the hike the Garmin showed 8.8 miles, but after uploading it to MotionBased, it showed 9.9. Is it correcting for elevation change or some other effect I'm not aware of?
      I noticed that with Sports Tracks. My engineer husband says the programs might use a different algorithm than Garmin does. It could be correcting for elevation, but it sounds more like on your hike you lost the satellite. Look at the dots on your Garmin plotting and see if there are some spaces. (I am just learning about this, too)

Out there running since dinosaurs roamed the earth

jEfFgObLuE

I've got a fever...

This thread has some info...

On your deathbed, you won't wish that you'd spent more time at the office.  But you will wish that you'd spent more time running.  Because if you had, you wouldn't be on your deathbed.

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

Is it correcting for elevation change or some other effect I'm not aware of?