opinions/advice wanted (Read 403 times)

Dean75

i am a novice ( several 5 k's, 10 k's and 3 HM so far in the past 2 1/2 to 3 years or so). My next HM is in 4 weeks. the past 3-4 weeks , i have been running 10 miles  3-4 times a week. this past week I was sick in bed 2 days straight, then swamped with work, then kids activities filled up my weekend so it is now Monday night and I havent run since last Sunday morning. My question is: What do I do now? Hit it hard the next 3 weeks? the next 2? I have never gone a full week without running leading up to a HM and am unsure what to expect. Will I be dead tomorrow on my run after a full week off? Have I lost a lot of my endurance and will suffer a huge setback? Sorry for the rambling- just looking to hopefully draw from someone's experience. Thanks

Hi Dean

I'm not really qualified to give advice but it look like you want some pretty quick feedback...so chalk this one up as an opinion....

I'll also assume that when you say you are running "10 miles  3-4 times a week" that you mean you are running 10 miles at a time, 3 or 4 times a week for a total of 30-40 miles per week and not 10 miles total per week.... sounds like it, but just checking.

Based on what you have posted, if I were you I wouldn't worry about anything; you've had a week off and there's every chance it'll do you as much good as it will harm. Ease in to your run tomorrow and see how you feel. You'll likely be fine. Then just carry on whatever your plan is for the run up to the race. I would not hit anything hard.

There are many more folks on this board who are way more qualified than I to help you fine tune your last 4 weeks before the race.

If you get back off your run tomorrow and have more questions come and post them. It would really help for you to share more info on your training history if you do that. Do you have your log online here at RA? Could you make it public?

Good luck tomorrow - enjoy your run.

Cheers

MattJ

2017 Goals