I need help guys (Read 1250 times)

Shane40

Ok, im 40 and fat. I have taken a new job in Law enforcement and have to go to the academy which requires me to run 1.5 miles in 16.30 minutes. Ive done the academy before but new job wont accept it and have to go again (not happy) Its given me a new oppurtunity to get into shape as ive just recently become diabetic as well. Ive been running aournd the local HS track for the last two months. I stared out walking 1.5 mile and my first day was a bleak 28 minutes. Ive gotten down to a mile in 13 minutes and thought i would master the mile before i go 1.5. i think im hitting a wall of some kind. Ive lost weight but need to improve my time. Any suggestions Thank you Shane
    dj steve boyett

Reluctant Scrooge

Shane-- I don't know what your time frame is to make your PT time, but two suggestions that may help are to utilize the Couch to 5K program available on coolrunning.com (it's here somewhere, too, I think), and/or to try running to my Podrunner podcast to help regulate your time and energy expenditure. I've had emails from listeners who passed their military PT tests because of help from Podrunner (a very rewarding feeling for me, too!). Best of luck to you!
      Steve Boyett
      Podrunner: Free, nonstop, fixed-BPM workout music mixes.
      Podrunner: Intervals - Free, varied-BPM workout music mixes!
      va

Hi Shane, Here are some tips... Two ways for you to get faster and pass your test: 1. run more ....this will make you a better runner and burn more calories to help you lose weight ....increase the amount you run each week gradually ....listen to your body to determine how much to increase your weekly mileage, 10% is a rule of thumb ....to avoid injury, don't run each mile like its a time trial, take it easy 2. lose more weight ....running more will help with this, but you also need to control what you eat Good luck!