My First Ultra! – Training for Ladybower 50 miles… (Read 175 times)

Andy Greenhalgh

Hi Everybody,

I’m about to train for my first ultra - Ladybower  50 miles on 21st September (UK)  – I will start a 16 week training plan on 2nd June and I have a couple of questions/concerns. ..

My Background:

I’ve recently ran Blackpool Marathon in 4:00:02 (PB) and I’ve ran 4 marathons in total, 2 in 2011 one in 2009.

Ran Half marathon in 1:44 (2012) and 10K in 47:45 (2011) and I’ve been running for 10 years or so.

Over the last 18 months I have made the transition to minimalist shoes (vibram fivefingers kso and bikila’s) and I run barefoot quite regularly 4 or 5 mile stints – barefoot running is something I will include in my ultra training but will spend most of my running in vibrams (but you never know!)

I’m designing my own program after reading info on the net and I’m piecing together what I think will suit my needs. My 2 main questions/concerns are these:

1: The FIRST training method, “Run Fast, Run Less”

Can I use the FIRST training method for ultras? This technique is typically used for marathon training and has only 3 runs a week, with 3 cross training days and one rest day - because the runs are higher intensity (intervals, tempos and a marathon-paced long run) the program provides enough fitness for the marathon for less mileage. I was thinking of the possibility of doing the same for ultra training and to include one back to back long run 4 weeks before the race (30 mile then 15 miles respectively) – I do understand the value of running more miles when training for an ultra but I’m thinking maybe a compromise of 4 runs, 2 cross training days and a complete rest day, the extra run could be a recovery run. Your thoughts?

2: Walk / run ratio?