So what would your evaluation of this running technique be? (Read 1412 times)

Ostriches and Emus are both endurance and sprint runners. Their survival skill is why I studied them specifically.

Humans are limited in track running by the fact that we slow down in the curve portions of a race.

http://jeb.biologists.org/content/210/6/971.abstract

http://www.jbiomech.com/article/S0021-9290(05)00219-8/abstract

These two birds are documented in ability to increase in speeds in curve running; that's how they survive, by the ability to out cut a predator to force them to expend more energy by running in an almost zig zag pattern until they give up the chase.

http://jeb.biologists.org/content/210/6/971.abstract

http://www.jbiomech.com/article/S0021-9290(05)00219-8/abstract

New indoor WR's coming soon!  Also, they would tear it up on my 20 laps to the mile indoor track where I go to school.

They say golf is like life, but don't believe them. Golf is more complicated than that. "If I am still standing at the end of the race, hit me with a Board and knock me down, because that means I didn't run hard enough" If a lot of people gripped a knife and fork the way they do a golf club, they'd starve to death. "Don't fear moving slowly forward...fear standing still."

Lane

This article seems to suggest that ostrich speed is due to unique physiology rather than running form, specifically how they utilize their third and fourth toes.

http://jeb.biologists.org/content/214/7/1123.full

I don't really see how this applies to human running, perhaps you can enlighten us?

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

What do you make of Bekele's arm carriage?

That video showed a bunch of Ethiopian runners. But seriously, when was the last time Ethiopia had any competitive runners in the 10K or the marathon?

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

Why is it sideways?