Racing often - race day magic (Read 213 times)

SheCan

It's fun.

I'm NEVER going to win a race.  I don't go into the pain cave, and even if I try to peak, I may or may not do any better the last.  I guess, maybe I like just having people cheer me along.  Get to pretend I'm like a superstar or something. I also like encouraging others.  Plus I get to work on my hoarding and accumulate more t-shirts.

Cherie

"We do not become the people who this world needs simply by turning our backs on anyone we don’t like, trust, or deem healthy enough to be in our presence. "  ---- Shasta Nelson

duckman

The Irreverent Reverend

To me, enrolling in a race makes sense for one of these two reasons: 1- try to win the race, or 2- get an official time on my running to objectively calculate my performance as a runner.

Commenters have said "fun," and others have talked about the weekend race being a community, a "church." As a pastor, I don't get to race much - I have plenty of Saturday and Sunday work responsibilities - but let me affirm both responses. I love races and the community I experience there in ways similar to how I love church and the community I experience there.

Running in races, particularly regularly, builds a sense of participation in a broader community, particularly one that is not limited to one's neighborhood or workplace. I love the camaraderie and spirit of races. Especially in a day and age when life is more fragmented, the sense of community in a race is wonderful ... even euphoric. You'll talk with people, enjoy music, encourage and get encouraged by, share a drink afterwards ... all with people you know, and with people you didn't know until that moment. It is fantastic.