2013 Sub 1:30 Half Marathon (Read 1808 times)

Hello everyone!  I would like to join this thread.  I am also a RWOL refugee from the sub 1:30 HM thread over there.  I have been running for almost 2 years.  I ran my first HM in April of 2012 in 1:32:27 using FIRST.  I ran my 2nd HM in September of 2012 in 1:29:50.  I feel I still have a lot of room for improvement and need an online community for support and accountability since I do all of my training on my own.  I am not part of an organized running club.  My next race will likely be a 12k in April of 2013.  That's the quick intro for me! 

5k - 19:56  |  10k - 40:03  |  HM - 1:29:50

CMJHawk86

Add me to the list.

I did a 1:29:09 in 2009 at Philly, then 6 months later at National Half in DC I eked out a 1:29:03 for a 6-second PR. Haven't seen the bright side of 1:30 since then. But I think even at soon-to-be 49 I can get back. Probably won't be til later in the year. First priority is Boston and breaking another plateau, 3:20, one which given my HM performances really makes no sense at all.

Mmmmm...beer

I was skeptical, but tonight's run has convinced me to shoot for sub-1:30 in March.  Ran 10 miles @ 7:12/mile, my fastest ever at that distance, would equal about a 1:34 half, and it wasn't race effort.  So we'll see how it goes between now and March and see what I can do at the Shamrock on 3/17. Smile

-Dave

My running blog

Goals | sub-18 5k | sub-3 marathon 2:56:46!!

Crazy Justin

Welcome all.  Good to see so many fine folks from RWOL.  I'll be 3 weeks out after this weekend.  I thought I might challenge my PR but I'll be realistic and simply shoot for the sub-90.  I did pretty well on my tempo yesterday but I feel like I'm about 10 seconds/mile slower than my best right now.  Hope I still have time to improve.

Mile: 5:18,   5K: 19:09,  10K: 39:44,  Half: 1:28:12,  Full: 3:21:56

Post-35 PRs:

Mile: 6:02,  5K: 21:14, 10K: 45:40, Half: 1:42:24

http://jzehnder208.googlepages.com

www.crazyj208.blogspot.com