When is it time for a rest (Read 909 times)

Slow-smooth-fast

Noob here, so any advice from you guys would be great. As a lot of you are aware I am in training for my first 10K so just trying to do my own thing to be ready for it. The problem I experience was last night, I started out on an easy run, 2 mile into it, I was so shattered I had to return. I did an 11 miler the night before, could this have had such an impact on last nights performance? It was kind of strnge, I felt like I had failed as I couldn't run any further which has never happened to me before. 12 Days to my race now, if any of you have any advice or a little training guide for the run upo that would be fantastic, as I dont want tihs to happen to me on the big day. Much appreciated. BTW, I am thinking that I am going to have a night off tonight to recover 100%, is this advisable or should I be hitting the road?

"I've been following Eddy's improvement over the last two years on this site, and it's been pretty dang solid. Sure the weekly mileage has been up and down, but over the long haul he's getting out the door and has turned himself into quite a runner. He's only now just figuring out his potential. Consistency in running is measured in years, not weeks. And over the last couple of years, Eddy's made great strides" Jeff 14 Jan 2009

RunningHammer

everyone follows different training programmes so this varies, but for me, i have 2 days rest every week. I run Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday, with a speed workout, medium distance @ easy pace, then a shorter run @ steady pace, this is followed by a days rest on Thursday. On Friday i run a short run @ easy pace, then on Saturday I do a long run @ slow pace, this is followed by a day's rest on Sunday. I think the general rule is, that where you have a long run each week this should be followed by a day's rest. But then i'd still consider myself a beginner too Wink
      Wingz

Professional Noob