Going to the Next Level? (Read 129 times)

pedaling fool

I've been running for a few years and I've read a few books, including Runner's World book Titled: Complete book of running : everything you need to know to run for fun, fitness and competition (2004 edition). So I'm familiar with Speed Work, but didn't really give it much thought, since I wanted to really improve on my distance in running.

However, lately I've been getting bored from running and my runs have become tedious, then the thoughts of Speed Work came back, not just for the boredom issue, but also because I've found that my pace has somewhat plateaued.

Today was my first official Speed work training and I wasn't too concerned with "going all out", in the interest of not hurting myself and my distance was probably not typical, since I can't find a track -- all school tracks are behind a gate with No Trespassing signs.

Basically what I did was find a residential street (no traffic) that was a length of 0.2 mile (~322 meters) and ran it five times. That's all I could do; I was totally exhausted after 4 runs, so that fifth one really hurt. And I'm not new to sprinting; I always sprint during my runs a little here and there, but to do it when I pushed harder, because I wasn't saving energy for the remainder of my run, was just exhausting, period.

But, I felt really good after it was done, but it took a really long time for my HR to get below 100.

Now that I'm more receptive to Speed Work, I'll be reading up on it again, but any recommendations would be appreciated.

arca