National Guard fitness goals - any Guard Soldiers here? (Read 160 times)

duckman

The Irreverent Reverend

I am currently applying to join the National Guard (as a chaplain), and I'm working both on my weight and on my fitness goals. Among other criteria, I have to hit certain fitness goals to enter - 34 push-ups in two minutes; 38 sit-ups in two minutes; 2 miles in 18:18. And, I have to get under 200 pounds (I'm currently in the 215 range, after being in the high 230s/low 240s over the summer).

I'm using Weight Watchers to help with the weight loss, and it has been working pretty well for me.

Sit-ups and push-ups - I'm starting again to do these exercises a few days/week to get better at them. I also have some freeweights and a power tower, to supplement work on my upper body and abs. I'm not very good at these workouts, and I don't enjoy them, so I tend to skimp on these exercises and just focus on the running, which I love. Of course, that plan won't help me hit my fitness targets to get into the Guard.

The 2 mile is not an issue. I've got that by a longshot. I'm also training for a marathon, while I'm at it.

If I am accepted into the Guard, I could enter the Basic Officer Leadership Course as early as this summer. Question, for any of you who have done BOLC or similar: Is it possible to come out of BOLC and do a marathon 2-3 months later? I'll surely be fit, but will I have the opportunity while at BOLC to go on long runs and train for a fall marathon?

Second, any advice for hitting these fitness goals, apart from the simple advice of, "the best way to get better at sit-ups is to do sit-ups"?

Thanks, all. Your insight, prayers, and words of wisdom will be much appreciated as I walk down this road toward service in the Guard.

Husband. Father of three. Lutheran pastor. National Guardsman. Runner. Political junkie. Baseball fan.

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25