New runner (Read 929 times)

BookaBazza

Sorry to ask silly questions but I have just started running. I have been playing football twice a week for a few years so have an ok baseline fitness. I started with 2 mile runs every other day this week and it is now obviously not far enough but I dont want to push too far too soon. I was thinking if one more 2 mile run this week and then a 4 mile run on Monday then 2 miles on Wednesday and 4 miles on Friday and see how that goes - does that sound reasonable. I have ordered a HRM which should arrive by the weekend. My main aim is cardio fitness and to lose 3 stone over the course of this year (and to keep it off) Thanks in advance for any tips. BB

Hawt and sexy

Wouldn't it just be easier to pass the stones? I see no questions.

I'm touching your pants.

A Saucy Wench

Dont mind willamona...she has taper madness Welcome! Slow and steady is the way.... Good luck with the weight loss too! We have a weight loss forum if you want to join us there. Make sure you have good shoes - way more important than the HRM Big grin

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

BookaBazza

Hmm thanks for that welcome LOL I have good shoes so am sorted on that front

A Saucy Wench

Whoops forgot to give you the link to the WEIGHT LOSS GROUP

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

runnerclay

Consistently Slow

Welcome. Be sure to stretch to prevent shin splints. From 0- 12 miles a week maybe a little too much.

Run until the trail runs out.

SCHEDULE 2016--

The pain that hurts the worse is the imagined pain. One of the most difficult arts of racing is learning to ignore the imagined pain and just live with the present pain (which is always bearable.) - Jeff

unsolicited chatter

http://bkclay.blogspot.com/

BookaBazza