Noob advice for restructuring runs... (Read 926 times)

Speediest Slug There Is!

I think I need to change the way I've been approaching my running. I've been running consistently for about two months now, and recently graduated from the C25K program. My first race ever is a 5K on the 4th of July. I can now run 3.2 miles, and that's naturally very exciting and all, but I seem to have run into a problem. Basically, I keep running out of steam. The way the C25K is structured, it basically has you increasing your mileage most every day before pushing on. I haven't had any problems until this final set of weeks. It's not that I can't run the full 5K distance at all, it's that I can't sustain that kind of distance every day I run. This means I'm running into frustration -- Monday I planned for 3.1 miles, only made it 1.6miles. Today planned for 3.1 miles, only made it 2.6. It was a very enjoyable run, and I ran at what I felt was a slow pace for me to try to avoid burnout, but I was still running at a faster than usual pace and I still burned out at the end. I could have finished if I absolutely had to (say for a race or something), but it seemed like it would have been way too much overexertion for a simple training run. I have been getting sick periodically, was too ill to run yesterday, and have been concerned it may have to do with overexertion on runs. The pace today, however, was faster than usual even though it felt slow, so even though I'm not making the distance, there's no question that cardiovascular fitness is happening and I am improving. I felt good today after my run, and I think the extra half mile would have made the difference between ''that felt great'' and making myself sick again. So basically I can run 3.1 miles, but I can't do it every day, and I'm tired of feeling frustrated. I'm beginning to suspect that 5K every day I run is not realistic or healthy for my fitness level. So I am trying to figure out how to restructure my runs for real distance r