long run....how slow..? (Read 662 times)

Ok so I am a newbie...went through a stint last year, worked up to 7-8 miles and then quit. I think I did too much too fast maybe. Anyways, now that I am re-committing, when I slow down for a long run how much slower should I really go? For instance today was my "Long" run of 4 miles. I did go a tad slower but it did not seem all that much easier than my regular paced runs. I felt like I just wanted to get it done. My long runs right now really aren't that "long" per se because I am still such a newbie, but I would love to be able to work myself up to 13.1 at some point. Also, I am a gym rat and feel like I am not getting enough exercise unless I do at least 65 min of cardio. My old workouts consisted of 65 min elliptical followed by 35 min of incline walking. If I continue to add in that 35 min of elliptical after my runs, is that ok? Sorry if these are dumb questions, is just that I want to be able to work myself up to atleast the 7 miles I was at before, plus shed about 10 pounds in the process. Thanks in advance!

Queen of 3rd Place