Question on running after an injury (Read 68 times)

Kathruns

This is my first time posting on here, although I lurk from time to time. I mainly have used this site to log my runs. Introducing myself…I’m a 51 y/o female and started running a little over 2 years ago. My husband started to run with me about a year ago and we enjoy running together. I’ve run 4- 5K’s and 1- 10K. My PR for a 5K is 26:39 which I was thrilled with back in November!

I had been running 14-15 miles per week and am happy at that. 3 – 3.5 miles each Mon. Wed. and Friday and then 5 to 5.5 miles on Saturday. I’m not interested in running much more than 6 miles at a time at this point.

Now to my question, in December 2013, I started to double my efforts with hill training (on a bridge – live in FL so no actual hills!) to train for an upcoming 4 mile race over this same bridge. For 3 Saturdays in a row I ran the bridge 4 times (mileage ends up about 5.75 miles total) and the last time at a faster pace than the 2 previous weeks. After that last run, I had horrible heel pain and stopped running for 5 weeks. I went to an Orthopedic Podiatrist and was X-Rayed. The Dr. said I did not have full blown Plantar Fasciitis, but definite tightness there that was causing my heel pain. He told me to get inserts, possibly new shoes and gave me a prescription for inflammation and stretch my calves 3 times/day.

About a 1 ½ weeks ago I started to very slowly run again. I started with 1 mile, then 1.5 and now 2 miles. I don’t know whether I should just run 3 times/week for now and allow rest between each run. My foot is not in pain really, but when I run, I am very aware of it and it can be uncomfortable. I don't know how else to describe it.