10 mile race in mid-Sept....? (Read 754 times)

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Is it likely I could do this?: Bridge Run At this stage in the game I am able to do a VERY slow 5 mile run (12 minute pace) without any trouble at all...but a 10 mile race in 2.5 months.... Is this even feasible/advisable? I really have the racing bug, but I don't want to hurt myself and make it so I can't run a very special 5k in Oct. (an autism puzzle run--my little nephew is autistic and it's very important to me that I am able to run that in his name). The Susan G. Komen 5k is also 2 weeks after the bridge run and I want to do that, as well. Remember...I'm 33 (old, LOL) and still quite a novice. Wink k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

aes

I checked out the race and it sounds like lots of fun. As most of us do, I am going to preface this by saying that I'm not a professional so this is simply my opinion and what I would tell to a friend. First of all, I say go for it and this is why. You are already a steady runner and have just finished a 5k. You mentioned that you are able to do a 5 mile slow run which means that you've already built up half of the race. If you start "training" on Monday then that will give you 12 weeks to train which I feel is very doable. One program that helps to give me an idea is a training "smart coach" at www.runnersworld.com you can go there, enter the time of your last race, how many miles you do a week, how long you need to train, etc. Then it will come up with a program to train by. Of course, you will probably want to make some adjustments so that it fits you best but I say go for it!! I'm still waiting this week out for my hamstring to clear up so I can "start" training for my marathon which is just 3 weeks after your race. Let's cross our fingers that I can make it. Let us know what you decide though. I think it would be a great goal to train for!!