Desperately Seeking Motivation! HELP (Read 655 times)

I've been running for a few years now and lately I'm just not that motivated. Work has consumed my life, not to mention a new house (along with the chores that go with it) and this horrible hot muggy weather, which make it harder and harder to run. For the last few months I've been coming up with the lamest excuses and can't seem to find a way to make myself get back in the saddle. I even signed up for a half marathon in September (now only 6 weeks away), but that hasn't motivated me either (and yet I'm horrified that I won't finish). I use to be addicted to my peaceful evening runs, which I used as a way to relax and unwind after work. Now (even when I have the time) I can't convince myself to take one. And when I do, I feel so awful and out of shape. Has anyone else gone through a slump like this? Any suggestions? What can I do get myself running again?
    RunFree7

Run like a kid again!

I think it is always hard to get back into the swing but I think if you give it a good effort you will see things will get better. You will run longer and the weather will get cooler. I didn't feel like running Sunday and didn't think I would make it very far and ended up going twice as far. Try the mornings it is a lot easier to run then or on a treadmill. With that said get off your lazy arse, get out that front door and get your run in! Stop the whining. The best thing about running is that the only thing holding you back is yourself. Sure you can blame the weather if it is too hot, too cold, raining or snowing but they don't stop you. You stop you. So get going and run. I like to think of every run as adding an extra day onto your life. So go live a little longer. Signed, Tough Love
        2011 Goals:
        Sub 19 5K (19:24 5K July 14th 2010)
        Marathon under 3:05:59 BQ (3:11:10 Indy 2010)