I got my Friend hooked! (Read 410 times)

For a while now i have been helping my friend train for the mardi gras beach run 10k here in galveston island, tx. I convinced him to do it even though he wasnt to thrilled about the idea. He agreed to do it for the benifet of running. On friday night, still wishy washy about whether he wanted to run... I convinced him. The run was great... and I beat my goal of under 1 hour. I finished at 58:16 and sure enough my friend mike (who i have yet to get him to join running ahead) beat me with a time of 56:42! i dont mind the fact that he beat me hes a black belt karate instructor and has been in shape for years longer than i have. the best part is i got him hooked! he keeps asking me when the next race is... I am not good at searching for these things.. can anyone help me find some good links for 5ks or 10ks in the Houston, tx area? p.s. its a beach run with perfect january temps... if you're in the area next year i would definetly recomend running it
    http://www.climbingamerica.blogspot.com