HR monitors ? (Read 1252 times)

Prophet!

what kind do you have, how pricey it is and do you like it ? straps vs strapless ?
    Neil Gunn

Gandalf the Grey

Hi I just have a cheap POLAR monitor (with a chest-belt) - I think it was £35 (UK) about a year ago. It is basic (tells your heart-rate, no fancy downloads) and has a stopwatch. After a few runs you do not notice the chest-belt. The kain reason I chose the POLAR was that they tend to work in most gyms as well. I use a GARMIN 201 for my speed/distance measurements. Hope this helps, Neil

Running ... just keep running!

I got a Polar for Christmas. I used it on a vigorous trail run yesterday. I'm still figuring out how to use it. In 69 minutes of running I spent 20 minutes in my target zone. I entered my age,weight,etc..when I first got it. I'm not sure what the default training target is. I think I have to read the manual again.
          I've been using Polar s625X for a couple of years for all my exercises and I love it. It is bulky and ugly but it works great. Tried using Garmin 305 (GPS based unit) on some trail runs but it kept losing signal so the readings ended up very inaccurate. Garmin is much bigger than Polar also. Polar uses a foot pod to measure speed and distance and once you calibrate it, you will find it quite accurate. Bike set is extra but not too much. After your workout you can download your exercise to the computer and if there is one thing that sets Polar above all the rest is the software. Polar has a new much more handsome running watches but they don't support bike units. Sad I am tempted to suspect there is a new triathlete Polar watch in the making since it's been almost 3 years since they came up with 625X. The s625X used to retail for around $450 but now you can get it for $330. Still not cheap. You can check features of Polar watches on http://polarusa.com/ Ewa