Injured - Gutted!!! (Read 889 times)

Hi All, I recently started training for a marathon in October and everything has been going so well - Last Friday night I was out havin a beer and whatever way i was sitting i kind of fell and tweaked my calf muscle - i went to go jogging on saturday and just done the warm up as my calf felt really tight - I decided i should rest for a few days as I did not want to injure it more - Tuesday came around and I was so eager to get back out that I went out with the calf still a bit tight - not a great idea - so now I have made it worse!!!! It has now been a week that I have not been able to properly run (my own fault for rushing things-i know!!!) I am so eager to keep fit and train so am gutted about this - does anybody have any ideas what exercises i should do in the meantime??? Can't wait to get back out there...

Man in Tights

yeah injuries are a %&%*. but you cannot wish them away. Rest the injury. You can always build back running form. Cross train - cycle, swim, anything that doesn't aggrevate the calf. Also it would be wise to get a physio to check it out to ensure that it's not a major injury.

Think Whirled Peas

yeah injuries are a %&%*. but you cannot wish them away. Rest the injury. You can always build back running form. Cross train - cycle, swim, anything that doesn't aggrevate the calf. Also it would be wise to get a physio to check it out to ensure that it's not a major injury.
        Yep. I was going to mention swimming if you can find access to a pool. Or a pond. The pond would be good for you*. *Name that movie.

Just because running is simple does not mean it is easy.

Relentless. Forward. Motion. <repeat>

Yep. I was going to mention swimming if you can find access to a pool. Or a pond. The pond would be good for you*. *Name that movie.
          Caddyshack ... around my house that quote is repeated anytime the word "pool" or "pond" comes up!

Think Whirled Peas