Tri Bike (Read 3511 times)

kcam

What do you guys that do triathlons and or road riding think of something like this bike as a beginner tri?

It's not for me but for my daughter who has done her second triathlon and wants to do more.  Her main complaint is that the bike she's using (a hardtail mountain bike of low quality - think WalGoose!) spins out and people are blowing by her on the bike.  This one's cheap but might be a good value.  I know nothing of road/tri bikes but I'd be assembling and adjusting it for her.  I have plenty of experience building MTBs so it shouldn't be a problem.  Bike fit is a whole nother can of worms we'll have to open before we buy something.

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/windsor/rwt_tri.htm 

MTA:  Sorry, the link doesn't take you directly to the bike - it's the Windsor 2010 Royal Windsor Triathlon Bike (under the triathlon category) for $795.

bikes direct has a sizing chart on the website, all you need is her inseam length.

if youve used bikes direct before you probably know that the directions arent worth a velvet painting of a whale and a donkey gettin it on. you may want to have it looked at when youre done because they screw things up at the factory assembly too.

youre paying good money for a decked out bike and it has some sweet components. that poor girl is gonna be in for the ride of her life once she realizes how much faster it is than a mountain bike. better get her a new helmet to match.

MTA: just noticed that it comes with clipless pedals so you may have to get the shoes too, or swap pedals.

xhristopher

Well, the price is low. At that price there will be compromises but, considering the intended use, it may be a pretty decent ride and undoubtably a massive upgrade from the mtn bike. Bike fit is so important getting one online has it's risks. They aren't as easy or inexpensive to send back as running shoes are but the fit is equally important.