On Wisconsin! (Read 2075 times)

The right to strike.

Public employees have no right to strike in Wisconsin.  Their jobs are not protected if they do so.

There was a point in my life when I ran. Now, I just run.

We are always running for the thrill of it

Always pushing up the hill, searching for the thrill of it

BeeRunB

Public employees have no right to strike in Wisconsin.  Their jobs are not protected if they do so.

Thanks for the correction. Cool

Just when I thought I was an expert for a moment.

I can still dream. LOL.

--Jimmy

DoppleBock

The way I see it, is that Wisonsin state workers negotiated contracts

with the state and the state agreed. Whatever they have been earning

has been by agreement. It's not like they are ripping anyone off.

If anyone

is getting ripped off it is the taxpayer by corporate welfare. The shortfall in

Wisconsin is equal to what they gave to corporations in tax breaks in that state.

I do not blame teachers or any state employee for the benefits that they receive.  But I do believe that we are past the time when changes should have been made.

We will spend 15% on education and 13% on Pensions - That is out of line

Long dead ... But my stench lingers !

obiebyke

Thanks, jimmyb!

Dopple, I'm so sorry you've taken cuts. I would fight for your rights and well-being, as well. That's part of what I think I'm doing by voting for who I vote for and fighting big corporate influence that gives money to the rich instead of the middle-class/blue collar people who need it. I think a more appropriate enemy is union-busters including private sector bosses/corporations, not state workers.

And those jobs going away? A lot of that is going abroad due to free trade agreements, not across state lines because of WI taxes.