So sleepy... (Read 1023 times)

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Am I the only one who has found that returning to running (or just starting) really makes you sleepy or need more sleep than normal? Before I started back to running I could comfortably get by on 7 hours, but now I NEED 8-9 (which often means my 5 year old is getting up with the birds and into mischief as I am too sleepy to wake when he does). I assume this is normal as my body is repairing and acclimating to increasing mileage...? k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

You'll ruin your knees!

Could be just the body's reaction. I am no nutrition expert, but you definitely want to pay attention to diet and hydration as well. I think if these are out of balance, you can lose "quality" of sleep. The double whammy could be that your running is taxing your body, and lack of good hydration of the proper fuel causing you to get less rest on more hours in the sack! Don't lose heart! You're doing great. Again, just my $.02...(hey there goes that 2 cent deal again...) Lynn B

""...the truth that someday, you will go for your last run. But not today—today you got to run." - Matt Crownover (after Western States)

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Again, just my $.02...(hey there goes that 2 cent deal again...) Lynn B