Cycling to Running Conversion Rate Questions (Read 2226 times)

I've heard that 4 miles of biking is comparable to 1 mile running. How true do you think this is, and do you think it would be okay for me to depend on this for marathon training? I am coming off a recurring injury. During the worst of it, I was unable to run. I started riding the stationary bike at home, and have continued to ride it since getting back into running. My running mileage is at about 27 miles a week, and I am enjoying the 4 days a week of concentrated workouts. My biking, on the other hand, is closing in on 50 miles a week. If the conversion rate I've read about can be believed, that gives me an extra 12 running miles. Which puts me consistently at about 40 miles a week. I'm training for the California International Marathon. I know that the best way to be a better and faster runner is to run. But do you think I will be able to run the marathon on 30 miles a week of running and 50+ of biking? Long runs will get longer as the race gets closer, obviously, and one of my running workouts is a speed session. So how much faith can I put in the 4:1 rate? Can I depend on it to get me through my training? Thanks for any input!
    "Running is a big question mark that's there each and every day. It asks you, 'Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?' " - Peter Maher, Irish-Canadian Olympian