New Runner (Read 1058 times)

hombre17

Hello Everyone, I am an intermediate distance runner. I've been running avidly for a couple of years now and just completed my first official marathon on Sunday. The point of this post is to ask advice for training a beginner. My girlfriend witnessed me finish the 26.2 mile race and has since become motivated to run a half marathon herself. She has tasked me with training her. The race is on September 3, 2006. She has never run much and gets most of her cardio on bike. She is a very motivated person who goes to the gym almost everyday. What tips do you have for me in training her on hard top? What do I need to do in order to get her to 13.1?
      Check out www.runnersworld.com; there are plenty of training plans for beginners there. The only advice I can give you is run with her, but encourage her by not speeding past her. I learned that from experience.
      Wingz

Professional Noob

Don't forget, if she's already in pretty good shape from her biking her cardio'll be in better "running" condition than her joints! It'll be easy to jump in too fast and get hurt just because her joints/muscles weren't used to this new type of exercise! Beginners exercise training plans are great for making you start out slow! After that, remember the 10% rule (don't increase weekly milage by more than 10%) and make sure she takes an easy week about every month or so. Speed shouldn't be the main consideration for a beginner - building a base milage without getting hurt is more important. Since September's not really that far off, you might want to look into one of those walk/run programs (like Galloway). They're good for preventing injuries. Good luck! And by the way, congratulations on completing your first "official" marathon!

Roads were made for journeys...

Franc Karpo