What are "Junk" miles? (Read 1520 times)

Think Whirled Peas

I'm looking for a little help on what people refer to as "junk" miles. I'm new to running and have only been doing it since April, but I'm currently training for the Detroit HM in Oct. I'm not too concerned about wasting mileage at this point, as I've got a LONG way to go b4 my first full marathon. I would like to understand what the term means though, and whether or not the more experienced runners find it to be valid. Can you have "junk" miles? Thanks!

Just because running is simple does not mean it is easy.

Relentless. Forward. Motion. <repeat>

Jacob Fern

I don't think that "junk" miles exist... weather you're running fast, or just plodding along, the point is you are still running. Even if you have to walk, it's still millage, and you should still count it. That's not to say that you should never try to fit in some faster pace running, but most of the work is done on the regular slow runs. Especially if you are new to running, it's important not to do too much too soon and get hurt (like i've done... many times....)

You'll ruin your knees!