Another newbie question, I mean really new. (Read 338 times)

Daren99

Hello,

I am brand new to running, actually new to getting fit in general. I'm 45, 6'2", 215 lbs. I quit smoking a year ago, I've lost 54lbs in the last 7 months (About 15 more to go). I've basically been changing what I eat to healthier things versus dieting, and also been using the elliptical for about  an hour a day. I started lifting some weights about a week ago, so I cut back the elliptical to about 20 minutes on the 4 days a week I lift weights. In those 20 minutes I do a low level interval program (I'm going to increase that to 30 minutes this week). When I was going for an hour I did it with basically no resistance, just going at about a 5.5 mph speed.

I plan to start the couch to 2k program in about a month when it warms up enough around here. My daughter wants us to run a 5k together this summer or fall. I'm wondering if when I start the couch to 2k program if I should start at the beginning or a couple weeks ahead in the program because of my elliptical work? I'm not looking to take any shortcuts to get out of working. I also don't want to waste time on any unnecessary steps. I don't know if my elliptical work matters when it comes to running or not? I assume running is more demanding because the elliptical uses a certain amount of momentum to help keep you going.

Any advice is appreciated, Thank you,

Daren

an amazing likeness

The elliptical work you're doing will give you a 'head start" on the aerobic fitness, but not on the muscle and joint strengthening aspects of running. I'd have you follow the C25K as it's structured early on to help get your body started on the stresses of running. Your lungs may be ahead of the program, but your legs aren't.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

PleasantRidge

Warm&fuzzy