Newbie Running (help with shoes and knee injury) (Read 107 times)

AutumnMay

Hello there! My name's Autumn and I am a 24 year old women who's just getting into running. I'm currently a bit over weight (BMI of 34).

I have a few questions. I run flat footed, is there something I can do to train myself to run with a better technique? Or shoes that will encourage better running?

I have a previous knee injury from high school. I strained my ACL and meniscus pretty good and didn't really take care of it the way I should have. I was young and stupid! What are some precautions I can take to not strain these tendons/ligaments? Some stretches or exercises to help? Or even a shoe that can help me out?

I live in a very rural area. Most of my running will probably be done on the roads. Orchards are just ankle breakers around my area or I would run on the grass and softer surfaces.

With shoes, since I'm just starting out, I don't want to go spending a crazy amount of money, especially if I don't stick to it as much as I plan. What can I expect to pay for decent running shoes? I'd like to stay under $115, even better under $80. I know the shoes can make the difference and I'm willing to pay a bit, but I know my friend spend $180+ on shoes in college for recreation running and that's not in my budget right now.

The closest running store is an hour drive from my house. I'll go there in a couple weeks but I want to see if anyone on here can give me a little information in the mean time!

I can't afford a physical therapist for my knee right now so thats out of the question.

Thanks for any information!

haroldjiii

run, rest & read

Hi and welcome. It's kinda hard for me to give you much concrete advice, but here goes.