How much experience to run a half? (Read 680 times)

Just curious how much experience/mileage is strongly recommended to run a half? I'm relatively new to running but also young/in good shape. There is the ING Half Marathon on January 29th that I am considering running.
      How'd you feel after your 8 miler? If the answer's "pretty good", I'd say go for it. As you said, you're young & in good shape. There's probably a good argument somewhere about taking your time but, screw that. You've got over a month to get ready. Seek out a training schedule for a half marathon, Hal Higdon's website is good place to start & I think you'll see you're already on the right track.
      Scout7

You have about a month to go, and your longest run is 8 miles (at least longest recent run).... You could do it. If you do a long run a week, and up the distance by a mile / mile and a half per....No problem at all. If you're interested in doing it, I would say go for it. If, however, you want a little more time, and would prefer to follow a training plan to be as prepared as possible, there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, either.
          If you can comfortably run a 10 miler in training, you should be able to pull off a half just fine. Just keep up your base mileage, get a few more long runs under your belt and you'll rock right through it. Good luck!
          Jenny
            Thanks for your feedback. In truth, if anyone had said "there is a slight chance you could do it" I would have hit "Charge My Card" on the registration web site. Wink I am very comfortable with my recent 8 mile runs and already had a 9 miler planned for Sunday. I am using the SmartCoach to plan for a 10K I have in two weeks; I modified it with my Half-Marathon goal in mind and the training plan didn't vary too much. (Except adding a 10 mile vs. 9 mile run) Happy Holidays!
            zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Like everyone else has said, go for it! Big grin k