Repeated injuries - thinking of getting Vibrams/minimalist shoes (Read 277 times)

jamezilla

flashlight and sidewalk

I am no expert and I can only speak from my own experience.

**Ask me about streaking**

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

The safety factor I mentioned has to do with being able to run on pavement in minimalist shoes without causing injury.  As for "...in practice...", it may be perfectly fine for you, but I rather doubt the bulk of us could run on pavement and not accelerate the wear and tear on our bodies.

So you think pavement is more injurious than rocks and sticks and thorns and whatnot?

As far as I'm concerned it is incontroversial that our bodies were designed by the process of evolution to run without shoes.  The human body is very adaptable.  

I reckon we evolved to run with our junk flapping around too, but I prefer shorts with liners. Makes me all cozy and fast(er).

Come all you no-hopers, you jokers and rogues
        We're on the road to nowhere, let's find out where it goes
        sport jester

Biomimeticist

I wear Vibrams personally, and I don't recommend them to anyone. I call them the Ferrari of shoes. All you know how to drive is a minivan. And if you step into a product you aren't trained to drive properly, how can you expect not to crash????

What few want to discuss is that Vibram is being sued for the crap they preach to sell their products. There's a reason for that legal action. And thinking the shoe will solve your medical issues is little more than wishful thinking.

http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/business/2012/07/vibram-barefoot-sneaker-maker-sued-over-claims/

Dealing with pain is understanding how you run and what steps you take to improve your efficiency in movement. That has absolutely nothing to do with the shoes you're currently wearing, or choosing a minimalist product.