How steep is this? (Read 251 times)

Wing

Joggaholic

I have little sense of how steep inclines/declines are when looking at elevation charts. I run mostly in flat areas, and even with occasional hill training, I never trained running downhill. I'm trying to make sense of what this chart really means. It's 3600 ft downhill in 10 miles (road). If I get my math right, that's about a 6.8 decline on a treadmill? (although I have no experience with a treadmill that does decline)

http://www.yosemitehalfmarathon.com/the-course/

Its similar to a couple of downhill half we have here in NC.  While you could get a 2-3 min PR running these, it will beat you up pretty good and the flat at the end will feel like a serious uphill.  I was sore for a week after running this - Scream  Your course looks a little steeper.

Extended downhill running can indeed trash your quads, especially if you're not use to it. When I've wanted to get extended downhill running, I would simply prop up the back of my treadmill the desired amount.

You are correct, a 3600 ft downhill in 10 miles is a 6.8 percent decline.

npaden

For comparison, lots of people consider the 3M half marathon in Austin to be a really good PR type downhill course.  It drops about 360' in elevation over the entire length of the course.  That race is 10 times steeper than the Austin course.

I do some hill work in the canyon behind my house and the steepest hills drop 200' elevation in just over 1/2 mile.  I usually end up running down those hills almost 1 minute per mile faster than my normal easy pace.

I would think you would for sure need some specific downhill training to be able to keep that up for 10 miles and your quads are going to be SCREAMING when you get done even then.  You might end up with a fast time, but your legs are going to be mad at you when you finish.

That's my 2 cents.  Can you find any race reviews from people who have run it in the past?