Buying a Bike for my first Tri (Read 2834 times)

trojancinephile

So I've been running for almost a year and a half now and want to add a triathlon or two to my race repertoire. Because the last time I rode a bike regularly was about 10 years ago (when I was 13), my goal race is an Olympic distance next summer. I am going to sign up for a training program closer to the date of the tri, but I want to be comfortable on the bike well before then, so I'm buying my bike now. I've checked out tri bikes from bike stores, but because I'm a student, I don't have $300-$800 to spend on a bike. I'm tempted to just go to Target and find a fairly cheap bike and ride it for now if I want to continue with the tris, buy a real tri bike when I have the money. Am I better off buying a tri bike now (new or used) or will I be okay going to a discount store and finding a "normal" bike to tide me over for my first race? Thanks!
    protoplasm72

Don't go to a target and don't get a real tri bike. Target and similar stores don't sell good brands and you are asking for trouble. It's like running in flip-flops instead of running shoes. A tri bike is designed to be hard to use and kind of uncomfortable so you really don't want it as your first bike. I'd get a lower model road bike from a quality brand and try to get a close out model or a used one. Companies like Trek or Specialized don't really make bad bikes, the lower end bikes just weigh more.

Son, when you participate in sporting events, it's not whether you win or lose; it's how drunk you get. -- Homer Simpson

xor

A tri bike is designed to be hard to use and kind of uncomfortable
        This made me laugh out loud. But damned if that wasn't my experience Big grin (tri bikes are designed differently so you work your legs differently... saving some for the run. Some people swear by them, but no way would I suggest it as a first bike.)