IT band issues. (Read 265 times)

cookstarcarolyn

Hi. I am a newbie at running. I started running a month ago. Started in Nike 5"0's. I have always been a flat shoe kinda gal. I wear vibram shoes 90% of the time..for casual, hiking, walking. The first week of running ( 3 times per week) went well, no issues. Second week in I started getting really sore after my runs on the upper right side of my leg. After a ton of researching,my best guess is it's my IT band. I went and bought a foam roller ( use it daily) and really stretch it out before/after a run. Runs seem to have been going better, pain is not nearly as bad. Then the last 5 runs have been terrible. About 2km into my runs, I am getting a pain on the outside of my knee on my right leg only ( my dominant leg)...thought maybe it was the shoes, so I switched to the saucony powergrid ride 7's. go for a run and low and behold, 2K in and the pain near my knee starts..so not the shoes ( thank goodness, cause I love my Nike frees. I have started doing this :http://youtu.be/ydcy3dPf__M. Anything else I should/could be doing? I can't give up..I love to run..entered my first 5 K at the end of August..would love to be able to finish the race!!! I run strictly on my local highway if that helps. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. Smile
    Zach Shiels

Find a good physical therapist or sports chiropractor in your area who does Graston Technique. It works wonders! http://www.grastontechnique.com/LocateaProvider.html

Member Since 2008

Just curious, did you go to a credible running store to get fitted with the proper shoes?  Once you find the proper shoe, it doesn't mean the problem will go away automatically.  Once the damage is done you have to work through it by either taking a break, proper stretches or exercises that will strengthen the problem area.

You can also get an IT band that will help while you are running.

cookstarcarolyn