How to execute this run better next time? (Read 245 times)

Supersono99

I am following a running wizard plan and was supposed to do an interval run tonight. Because I wasn't on a TM or a track, I chose to do the intervals by time instead of distance. My goal was to do 4 x 4 minute intervals with 4 minutes recovery in between. I didn't know what pace I could do, so I wore my HRM and had planned to just get my HR to around 180 during the intervals. As it turns out, I believe my HRM was not functioning properly and the readings make no sense so that was useless. I am new to running without walk breaks (only since March) so I am learning to run by feel and I am not very good at it yet. This workout said to stop the workout if unable to sustain the pace each interval. I could tell I was getting much slower by the third interval so I stopped the workout. My intervals of 4 minutes were at a pace of: 9:39, 9:46 and then 10:15 at which time I stopped the workout.

How can I execute this workout properly in the future? Is it just a learning curve of trial and error for learning how fast is hard but not too hard so that I cannot continue? I'm really bummed that I wasn't able to execute this correctly after the rest of the plan has gone so well with so much improvement.

run.87

“Over level or steep, over smooth or rough, over dry or wet…run, run: always run.” 

run.123

I think it just takes practice. Learning how to feel a pace is one of the more difficult aspects of running and something that even experienced runners struggle with at times.

In my experience your first interval should feel pretty easy. You should be moving, but would be able to talk fairly easy in full sentences for the first 2/3 of the interval or so. This interval is all about patience!! Keep being patient throughout the first half of the workout and then you will have the strength to push the pace during the second half of the workout.