1st half - 1 hr 50 sound reasonable? (Read 374 times)

Paul in the Peaks

Have been following a schedule provided by the half marathon organiser. Never ran more than 5 miles before, started in Feb, half is in 4 weeks. Have ran three 10k races in 53, then 48.40 then 48.24 (trail 10k up and down a big hill).

Planning a 10 mile run tomorrow in 90 mins to extend my long run from 8 mile. Planning 10 mile run next week and covering around 20 mile a week.

1 hour 50 looks achievable but worried what I don't know....half course is flat and there are pacers to assist.

all thoughts/comments welcome

I love running - after the event...

Full: 3:59:26

Half 1:39

15k 1:17

10k 48:24

5k 22.18

keeponrunning

I'm no expert, but speaking from experience I'd go out more moderately.  Yes, in theory with a 48:24 10k you should be able to run a 1:50 in peak form.  However, if your long run is maxing out at 10 mi and you're only running 20mpw, I don't think you'll be able to pull off your maximum performance yet.  It took me 6 halfs and 35-40mpw to get my time down to what race predictors said I should be able to run based on my 10k time; my first performance was almost 20 minutes slower than predicted with similar training to what you've been doing.  Just my .02.

Sulphur Springs 50km-- Ancaster, ON-- May 28, 2022

Tally in the Valley 12 hours-- Dundas, ON -- July 30, 2022 (Support SickKids Toronto)

Stokely Creek-- 56km-- Sault Ste. Marie, ON-- Sept. 24, 2022

Joann Y

Yes, reasonable. Just be careful about starting out too fast. If you don't get there this time, you will soon enough.

Paul in the Peaks

Thank you! I had heard that the predictors assume lots of experience. I guess because I am on a half marathon plan i assumed they applied to me...in each of the three 10ks I planned and stuck to my chosen pace with negative splits, so will do the same for the half. The 10 tomorrow may tell me something I guess . Thanks again

5k 22.18

From the Internet.