HELP, I have periostitis (shin splints), is killing me, what can i do? (Read 1228 times)

Sweaty

SmileHello everyone, I´m new to this forum, I´m also running new barely 6 months, I have participated in three races, my fastest time 1:02, and I really caught the world of careers, I don´t want to stop is like an addiction so endorfina. Big grin My last race was in November and the pain in my leg is killing me, I know that I need to do exercises in soft soil but it is impossible where I live, there are not many places to run with soft soils. What can I do to improve my m training and pain, there will be any therapy or bandaging assist me when train. Thanks for responding. WinkNENA.
    I don´r suffer from insanity, I enjoy every single moment. L.L

Me and my gang in Breck

Nena, I'm not a doctor but I had terrible shin splints for along time and I can tell you what I did when they were bad. First thing! You shouldn't try and run through the pain if it is real bad. They should heal quickly with rest if it isn't a stress fracture. Motrine is your best friend. It relieves the inflamation. Slow down and run real easy. The hard pounding from fast pace running will give you SS's everytime. Find someplace to run that isn't concrete or pavement. This is the one biggest thing that I did that help's. Have you been to a running store that only sells running equiptment and had someone watch you run and get the shoes that are right for the way you run? Don't give up hope. It took about 18 months of running before they aren't really and issue anymore. Search the internet for more info on shin splints. Their's lots of it out their. Good Luck. Mark

That which does not kill us makes us stronger. Neitzsche "Only those who risk going too far can possibly find out how far they can go." "Dedication and commitment are what transfer dreams into reality."