Does running skew cholesterol test? (Read 206 times)

Wing

Joggaholic

My annual checkup is coming up, and I will fast for 12 hours before the blood test. The test is on Thursday morning, should I skip my normal run Wednesday night? Does exercise skew the results one way or the other? But running every day is now "normal" for me, so I don't know... I just don't want to get invalid results and waste my trip and copay to the doc.

I've never had it affect my cholesterol level, but a hard workout has affected my CREATININE level.

Petco Run/Walk/Wag 5k

I'm not a doctor but was told by my Cardiologist not to run/walk/exercise before fasting blood tests because it can affect some of the tests they do. Not sure about cholesterol but would imagine it would affect at least glucose

bob e v
        2014 goals: keep on running! Is there anything more than that?

Complete the last 3 races in the Austin Distance Challenge, Rogue 30k, 3M Half, Austin Full

Break the 1000 mi barrier!

History: blessed heart attack 3/15/2008; c25k july 2008 first 5k 10/26/2008 on 62nd birthday.

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

I have a test coming up in 2 days.  Hadn't really given this any thought - since I run every morning, seems like that is my "normal".  Interested in hearing replies from med professionals here.

Feeling the growl again

Over time, for many people, LDL will be lowered.  "High" mileage can have the effect of also raising HDL, so in combination your ratio would be improved.  This is not a universal, guaranteed phenominon, we are all individuals.

As to the effect of a single run, I have not seen any studies on this but I would not expect it to have a significant effect.  I have run and not run before tests and the results are always about the same.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

Jon the Freshman