First time at 5K race distance! (Read 1016 times)

I have been reading these forums a lot in the last 9 weeks since I started my running. I am so excited after my run today that I find myself compelled to post. My goal for this first 5K had been to run the whole thing without stopping. As I have gotten further along in my training I have re-evaluated. I have been using a walk/run interval method (I'm now up to 2 min walk 13 min jog). Anyway, my new goal for the 5K I will be running next week became finishing in about 45 min. (Slow I know, but I'm just getting started! Smile ) Well, today was my first time running 3 plus miles (about 3.07) and I finished in 44:19 and felt great! Big grin I am going to do 2 easy runs this week, then the race on Sat. Very excited, had to share. Reading everyone else's posts has taught me a lot, and helped my feel like a runner even though I am still so slow!
    Ringmaster

Debbie, isn't it true that the great thing about running is that reading about other people's training and races encourages you to do your own thing better? I'm not sure there's any other sport out there where the competition does the same thing. Congrats on your new milestone, and thank you for recording it and sharing it with us. Make sure to come back and give us your race report--there's nothing like your first race. Relish it! Karina

Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. (Heb. 12:1b)
      Mile by Mile

I actually walked for a year before adding in short runs. I used a 6/1 ratio run/walk for my marathon, which is about the same ratio you're using. There's nothing wrong with eliminating walk breaks as you progress, but there's also nothing wrong with keeping them if you want to. Sounds like you're ready for your race, good luck with it. Be sure to post a race report, and don't forget you get bonus points for pics.

E.J.
        Greater Lowell Road Runners
        Cry havoc and let slip the dawgs of war!