when to stretch??? (Read 1830 times)

runcdrun

I'm fairly new to running. I've run a few 5k's thats it. I love it and hope to keep improving. My question is, when is the best time to stretch? I have heard to stretch after a mile or two, but I have also heard it's best to stretch after your run when your muscles are really warm. I don't really know how much stretching I should be doing and how beneficial it is. To be honest I really don't stretch that often, but I am afraid I am going to get injuries if I don't start. Please give me all your best advice on this subject. Thanks in advance!!! Keep running!!
    jEfFgObLuE

I've got a fever...

Short answer is only after you've run a few miles and are very warmed up. Don't ever try to stretch cold, IMHO.

On your deathbed, you won't wish that you'd spent more time at the office.  But you will wish that you'd spent more time running.  Because if you had, you wouldn't be on your deathbed.

Just as Jeff said, after a mile or two of easy running you can take a short break and stretch a bit. Then after you're done your run, you can do some more stretching while your muscles are still warm. Don't stretch cold (ie before you start running). - R
        JakeKnight

Short answer is only after you've run a few miles and are very warmed up. Don't ever try to stretch cold, IMHO.
          What he said. They lied to us in eighth grade gym class. Cold stretching does little or no good and will probably hurt you. Of course, what do I know? The only time I stretch is when I'm having my morning coffee.

E-mail: eric.fuller.mail@gmail.com
          -----------------------------