Half Marathon (Read 180 times)

Jerusalem Racer

I am new to running I have run 2 10 km races and one 4.2 km race. I have another 10 km race coming up at the end of October. My question which I hope to get the answer from those who are little more experienced then I am. I've been running for almost 3 months. I run about 20 km a week and I hope to up it to 30 in the coming months. I already have my first half marathon planed for March 21st next year in the Jerusalem Marathon. However I am tempted to run the half marathon in the Tel Aviv Marathon on Febuary 28th Exactly 3 weeks before the Jerusalem race. My original plan was to just run the 10 km in Tel Aviv as part of my training plan. What are you thoughts a Half Marathon wear me out or is it a good idea???

Pedro P Sousa

From my experience (just 2 marathons completed, mind you), if your marathon preparation goes well, the half marathon will feel like a breeze, recovery time should be rather short. The hiccup I see is that 3 weeks out you'd probably be looking at doing the highest mileage week / toughest long run of you program. But you can do that one week prior, then have another longish (not as long) run the following week, and leave the last 2 weeks to taper reducing volume significantly. Obviously these are general remarks and it all depends on how marathon-fit you are at the time; the fitter the easier you will fit the HM.

Philliefan33