Help me get rid of my gut!! (Read 1258 times)

mb1973

I have been running for about 4 years now. I have lost around 40 lbs, run a half and a full marathon...Overall I feel great...The problem is my gut...While it is quite smaller than it used to be, it seems to have stopped shrinking...I have a good 3-5 lbs around the midsection I could stand to lose... Just looking for some advice on the best way to strengthen and flatten this area...Thanks!!
      Help with Gender? If you make yourself known to everyone by making your profile/log public, this is a GREAT place to start. Wink I am in your boat, I have all my weight hanging around my waist. There is no miracle cure for this, but I take Ab/Core strength classes at the gym as well as Pilates. These make your muscles stronger, which will help burn fat, but the only thing that will make it come off is diet and cardio..... LOTS of cardio. Try some other types of cardio than running on your alternate days/rest days such as eliptical, spinning, etc. Your body craves challenge and likes the change in routine. All the Fitness mags in the world will tell you that. How's the diet? Eat 5-6 times a day in smaller meals to stay satisfied without overdoing it on the calories. Start an online food journal ( I use the daily plate) many use fitday and log your food for a few weeks. It can be eye opening when you see how much you actually eat. Ab Fat is a long slow process, I am sure we BOTH will get there in time. Good Luck~ Smile

Life Goal- Stay Cancer Free, Live my Best Life

" Choose Joy, Today and ALWAYS" 

mb1973

Thanks...I am male 35 years old...As far as diet goes, I have been vegetarian for the past couple of years...My downfall is a bit of a sweet tooth, but it is in moderation, I think...

uncontrollable