Personal Record Question (Read 761 times)

Ok, this is just out of curiosity because I am fairly new to this whole running lark. And please understand, I offer no judgment either way on this one as I am a runner who will literally never enter a race. I am curious, however, about the whole personal record thing as it relates to runners who are aging or have suffered injuries. Specifically, here is the question.... is there a point where your PR at a given distance stops being your PR? Ok, that made no sense. Here's how the question came about. I am a former gym rat. I used to live for the gym until injuries forced me out. Then I healed and went back. Then I had more injuries.. etc. I've finally reached a point where I am now old enough ( 41 ) that even though I could probably now go back again I would never hit the numbers I was hitting before. I was discussing weight training the other day and someone asked me what my best bench was. Now, when I was younger and really living it I managed 405 for three reps on more than one occasion. However, that wasn't my answer. Instead I just said that I could probably still push 225 if I had to and left it at that. Of course I then had to ask myself why I bailed on my "PR". The answer was because I am no longer that guy. A "PR", at least for me, is not so much a record of what I have accomplished as the goal that I now have to surpass. Once I accept the fact that I will never again bench 405 then it's pointless to say that I ever did. So now that I am running I am setting my own personal records. Of course, I am utterly convinced that I can and will break each of those. However, I am sure there will come a point where I have to admit to myself that the 5k time I ran x number of years ago is the best I will ever run. At that point I don't know if I would still see that as a PR in the sense that it's not something I could reasonably hope to break. Just curious, I guess, as to the mindsets out there.
    And who am I anyway?