How to train for a half marathon (Can only run 2.5 miles max) (Read 464 times)

jwall5352

I am just looking for perhaps a schedule to train for a half marathon... this is not for any particular event whatsoever, its just my personal goal to be able to run that distance.

I was previously a smoker, quit smoking and at that time could only run 1/2 a mile. Did 2 months of the Insanity workout and now I can run 2.5 miles straight. That is just about my maximum at this point.  I run at a pace of roughly 9 minutes and 30 seconds per mile

I no longer do insanity due to it getting boring and now I just run and lift a bit. 

I'm really new to running and have no idea how to approach being able to run 13.1 miles.

Any tips or suggestions at all in general would be appreciated. Thanks guys Smile

And I'm also running to lose weight, relatively close and I'll be there in no time, started at 200, now at 177, want to get 160-165. (Any tips to burn belly fat better?)

I'm a 5 ft 10 inch tall male, 21 years old.

Thank you Smile

jwall5352

Also, I run 5-6 days per week Smile

TJoseph

You might need to run slower.  Most runs should be at an easy pace that you could hold a conversation while running.

MTA:  If you run more miles while eating the same or less, you will burn more fat.  Congratulations on quiting smoking.

drrbradford

You can't target specific areas of fat. However, doing some ab work will build muscle mass and make you look a bit more defined. Lower ab work will improve posture through correction of anterior tilt (a big problem for me due to desk job).

Although the article below is aimed at serious athletes (I'm talking twice a day training of moderate to high intensity) it may give you some insight to macronutrient timing:

http://www.nutritionx.ie/the-top-ten-nutritional-mistakes-made-by-elite-athletes/