Ibuprofen before running: bad, but how bad? (Read 10739 times)

Jazz hands!

That's... a long time. How does anyone ever run?!?

MTA: I give up. It's still supposed to be 80 degrees at 8pm.

run run run AHHHHHH run run run

I went to a well respected ortho doc here in town on Tuesday to have my knee checked out due to pain and swelling after every run. He took some x-rays and told me that I have "a little bit of arthritis especially around the kneecap" but didn't see anything else unusual (I would have thought an MRI would have been more appropriate but I'm no doctor). His treatment suggestions:
      1. Ice after runs
      2. get new shoes
      3. take at least 2-months worth of Glucosamine/Chondroitin (discontinue after that if it's not helping)
      4. take 1 or 2 Advil or Aleve 1/2 hour before my runs
      After reading this I might get a second opinion!

By the way, Glucosamine/Chomdroitin have been shown to be no better than placebo.

http://www.contentnejmorg.zuom.info/cgi/content/abstract/354/8/795

By the way, Glucosamine/Chomdroitin have been shown to be no better than placebo.

but, I tried a placebo and the GC (Schiff Movefree advanced formula). The GC worked, and the placebo didn't.  Honest, I did

I like on this forum how the OP can bump a thread 1.5 years later and get a response from the same people who replied 1.5 years ago.

I like on this forum how the OP can bump a thread 1.5 years later and get a response from the same people who replied 1.5 years ago.

Because here at RunningAhead we like Necromancy and Necrophilia. lol

The King of Beasts

Bringing this question up again--how long after taking Ibu. is it okay to run?

i like 30-45 min

"As a dreamer of dreams and a travelin' man I have chalked up many a mile. Read dozens of books about heroes and crooks, And I've learned much from both of their styles." ~ Jimmy Buffett