Sub-20 Goal for 5k (2012) (Read 5412 times)

hairshirt knitter

We'll see how well my marathon training (and, starting this summer--ultramarathon training) translates to 5K performance.  I'm hoping at least decently well. 

I'm working on the principle that sub-20 isn't exactly elite level running, and that we don't need to be doing specific 5k training per se.

Getting fitter, slimmer, running consistently with a good mix of quality, tempo and long runs should lead to sub-20 (or thereabouts) 5k, sub-1:30 hm, and even sub-3:30 marathon all at the same time. The marathon maybe needs more miles than the others, but it seems to me that these goals are achievable just by becoming a better runner generally. Would you agree?

MichiganFlyer, Thanks for making this list! I like seeing statistics like this.  

Haha i think you just like stats in general. Just checked your summary. You have more graphs/tables than I have seen in my life. Jk i like stats /numbers too. Thats prob why i majored in comp sci.

I'm working on the principle that sub-20 isn't exactly elite level running, and that we don't need to be doing specific 5k training per se.

Getting fitter, slimmer, running consistently with a good mix of quality, tempo and long runs should lead to sub-20 (or thereabouts) 5k, sub-1:30 hm, and even sub-3:30 marathon all at the same time. The marathon maybe needs more miles than the others, but it seems to me that these goals are achievable just by becoming a better runner generally. Would you agree?

I totally agree on principle--but I have no idea if I agree on practice, at least for me.  I haven't been running long enough to know that (started last May--my log goes all the way back to the beginning).   In my previous life as a runner (high school, ending with four broken bones in junior year), I'd never even broke 22 minutes in the 5K.