feeling the heat (Read 160 times)

Runner man

Runner man

As I have posted other times....I just love running but I have trouble finding equal time for my wife and kids.

They don't run and don't come to my races anymore.

A lot of standing around for them.

Anyway, during Memorial Day weekend, I left  with friends for 3 days to compete in a race quite far away.  

I came home to many cold shoulders.... 

Suggestions needed especially from the women out there on ways I can make it up to my wife and kids for missing many activities while I was gone.

I am not good at planning the romantic stuff and family stuff.   I need help.  I am feeling selfish.   How do you make it up when you miss time with your families?

Well you were looking for suggestions from the women, but I will give my 2 cents anyway.

Certainly there is no single answer, all relationships are different. Of course the first thing to do is have an open discussion about it.

Some may find the solution is taking your family with you, but making sure there are other things to do rather than just stand around at the race.

Some will say to see what your wife is interested in doing that involves taking off without you & the kids, so there is a more even exchange.

However in many cases the answer is simply don't be so selfish, doing things like leaving your family on holiday weekends. They probably aren't crazy about all the hours you put in running when you are home, but they put up with it; the road trips are just too much.

This is probably not the answer you are looking for, but you may have to decide whether your family is more important to you than some of your running goals.

Good luck.

Dave

Cntrygal

Did you ever sit down and have a conversation with your wife and LISTEN to what she had to say?  If you did, what did she say?  If you didn't... then at the risk of offending you... You already know, but are looking for some "justification" in your current behavior.