Why do I always bonk between miles 12 and 14? (Read 2030 times)

50 halfs by age 50

I have been running for only 3 years, but have completed 5 half marys over these years and my first full yesterday. No matter what, no matter how well I'm doing, I seem to implode between miles 12 and 14 EVERY time! I do intervals, I started only walking then worked up to R4 min/W 1 min. After my last half in Aug, I started training with a R4/W2 plan that feels really comfortable. My problem is that after about mile 12, I can't maintain my intervals and start slipping to more walking than running and eventually, only walking. Even in my half PR, I bonked at about 12 and walked it in. The best I've done was in my 16 miler while training for the full...I managed to keep up until mile 14, then fell apart. For my full yesterday, I dropped back to R3/W2 in an effort to keep going longer, but still only made it halfway and walked the last 10 miles. What am I doing wrong? I do live in S. FL and train in heat/humidity most of the year. My toughest runs are with high humidity. I know that's a factor, but I was born here. Shouldn't I be acclimated by now? I'm not fast and I never will be. I would just like to be able to continue improving my endurance. I guess I'm trying to figure out if I'm losing the physical or the mental battle and what I can do to fix it. TIA for any thoughts/help!

*Mel* //  "A lot of people run a race to see who's the fastest. I run to see who has the most guts." - Steve Prefontaine

Hawt and sexy

You are not going to like this, but you bonk because you are running to fast. Drop the intervals and slow down. Just keep running slowly, it will come to you. It's an easy fix, but no one likes to hear it.

I'm touching your pants.

Think Whirled Peas

Not too sure, and I've only been running less than a year, but it seems like you might want to be running more often. Your long runs are making up a significant portion of your overall mileage. Just my 2 cents. GOOD LUCK!