What do you eat and when? (Read 884 times)

danadearest

I am a newbie here and I have no doubt that you guys have discussed this topic numerous times so I apologize...but I would like to know what everyone eats and when.  What is your tried and true pre-run meal or snack?  Pre-race meal or snack?  Nutrition on your long runs and during races?  I tend toward tummy issues so would love to hear what works for you.  Thanks!

JML

For training, I only eat pre-run when it is more that 12 miles.  If it is a longer training run, a small bowl of cereal or a banana 60-90 minutes before the run seems to do the trick.

For longer races, I use the tried and true best food for Glycogen top off......the pop tart.  (Thanks Trent!)

As nutrition on longer runs and longer races, I am a fan of Gu and will typically use it sparingly during training and every 5-6 miles during a longer race. 

I recommend trying out the various gels on longer training runs to figure out what works for you.  I discovered that Powergel does NOT agree with me this way which was preferable to finding out during a race.

Good Luck!

2014 goals: run a bunch....race some.....repeat...

I can eat immediately before a run (I'm one of those people) or even during (and I mean real food, too, not just gels) without any real issue, but I only eat pre-run for long runs--about 12 miles, actually, same as JML.

The exception for me is anything high fiber--I'll be doomed to the trots if I do that.

During long runs, I only use gels at about the 15 mile mark, and only so I'll be used to them for races.  I don't feel I need them, but I don't want to have a weird reaction at my first marathon (November 6th!).  For me, Gu bothers me...but PowerGel doesn't.  Honey Stingers have been pretty good, too.  Experiment with different food sources--but try not to rely on them too much in training.

Best of luck!