Why should I race? (Read 284 times)

I've been running now for 4-5 years and absolutely love it.  I started off to lose weight, got addicted and now thoroughly love running.  I do it for my own reasons, mainly for exercise, but my running time is my thinking time, my relaxation time, just my time to get out and enjoy quiet time just for me.  I think if I did not run, I would literally go insane.

So, I get asked all the time - do you compete?

And I never have.  Not one race, not even a 5-K.  I could do a half easy because I run one every weekend.  But I have never entered a race because it's not why I run.  I run for my own peace of mind and I figure if I enter a race, I will go overboard training and maybe even begin to hate running...so I don't do it.

Anyone else run for just the pure enjoyment and don't enter races?  Should I enter one?

Don't carry 10,000 songs in your hand...protect them...

The "stiff" one works best for me...

Netizen Kane

Races can be sociable, fun events where you can meet people, bring your family along and have a good time. It can also be quite motivating having an event to look forward to, they can be a reason to travel to a new place and the races themselves will often take you somewhere you haven't been before, especially trail runs.

Joining a race does not mean you have to "race". Competing is a state of mind and you can (and many do) opt out of that aspect.

Latent Runner