why do my feet hurt? (Read 197 times)

slowbutsteady31

Hi! I'm new to the forum, I figured it would be good to get more opinions on the issues I'm having right now so here it goes! I have been running for a couple of years but I have just now started running consistently. I have been experiencing lots of discomfort at the end of my 5k and have had pains in the balls and heals of my feet. I was wondering if this is normal or if I should get new shoes or if possibly its PF. I am hoping to get to 6 miles by November and a half marathon by next year sometime. Any advice would be appreciated, I also have fibromialga so Idk if that has anything to do with it or not.

Thanks!!

Mary K

hectortrojan

Running too much too soon can be a problem. If you are increasing your weekly mileage very aggressively, this could happen. I learned it hard way. Was increasing weekly mileage by 10% a week. Doing that, I went from 20s miles/week to 50s mile/week just to got injured a month before the first half marathon. I had issue with ball of the foot. The key is to increase the weekly distance slowly. If you are running 10 miles a week, run 11 miles next week and increase further only if you are comfortable with running 11 miles/week and so on.

Do not hesitate to take a day or two off whenever you need to. Its better to take a couple of days off than to take few weeks off.

How old are shoes? If they are very old then it might be the time to replace them.

I also have had trouble with pain on the bottoms of my feet.  There were several causes of my foot pain.  You will have to do some experimenting to find out what to do with your feet.

Slamming your feet down when you run.  Remedy is to run quiet.  Try running in the grass barefoot and notice how you plant your feet.  When I started to make a conscious effort to run more quietly, the pain went away.  I'm still working on it.

Too many miles per week at this time.  Cut back on miles for a few weeks, then increase more gradually.